The (wo)Man Inside …

October 11, 2009 waterswife

I wrote a post over on OSB, and I thought I’d share it here:Th

Ok, so I am going to be revealing something totally embarrassing right now. I watch Little House On The Prairie every evening while I am getting dinner ready. It’s a little habit I picked up about a month ago. I’ve never watched this show before, and so all the episodes are new to me. I found myself getting quickly sucked into the story line.

So what does this have to do with our OSB website? Well, last week an episode aired that just made me sob. It was titled “The Man Inside”. Here is the episode summery: Laura befriends a classmate named Amelia Bevins, who is ashamed of her obese father. Despite the man’s unfailing work ethic and generosity to everyone he meets (particularly with those at the blind school), Amelia denies any relation to him. Hurt by his daughter’s emotions and determined not to bring shame upon his family, Mr. Bevins tells his wife he’s going away on business and moves secretly into the blind school. When he is nearly killed in an accident, however, Amelia comes to grips with her mistakes and recognizes her true feelings for her loving father.

Oh my gosh. SOBBING!! I want to cry just thinking about it. I cannot tell you how many times I wished that I could go live in a blind school or something because I am ashamed of my overweight body. So many times I wished people could look past my body and get to know the WOMAN inside.

How many of us have judged others by looks alone while at the same time we are saddened when others do that to us? We all obviously are working to look healthier and lose weight, but lets never forget to remember who we are on the inside.

Entry Filed under: iNspiRatioN, oSb

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy&hellip  | 

    Wow Aimee, I got teared up just reading the episode summary. I think about those same things often. Just so you know, I think you're great inside and out. You're beautiful and funny and an amazing friend 🙂

  • 2. Shop Girl*&hellip  | 

    Hey there!I’m Shop Girl from I Heart My Shoes— I’m an LDS writer / teacher in Ontario, and, like you, I’ve been a member of the 20 Something Bloggers network for some time but I thought that having a separate one for LDS bloggers all over the world would be a fabulous way to connect with one another, and find some new blogs to read!It’s brand spankin’ new and I’d love it if you joined! Come on over and check it out. LDS 20 Something Bloggers

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

  • Tweet, Tweet

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  •  
