Fat Tax?

July 30, 2009 waterswife

Susan over at OSB asked what we thought of the proposed “Fat Tax”.

Here is my comment:

Obviously I don’t like it either. I was thinking about this today actually! Not the tax, but how obesity effects others.

Sure, we have the argument that obesity causes several health issues. Health issues cause higher insurance rates. But not all over weight people have health issues (at least not yet in their lives). There are several skinny people who have the EXACT same health issues due to familial history. Should they be charged even though they aren’t fat?

ALSO! What about cancer? Cancer costs a lot also. Sure, a good percentage of people didn’t do anything to cause their cancer, but what about those who smoke … or go tanning?

Phew! That was just a small portion of what I thought about today.

What do YOU guys think?

PS. I know, I know. Two months! I didn’t write, I didn’t call. I’m a bad blogger. lol. I’ll write again soon. Promise!

Entry Filed under: iN tHe nEws

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy&hellip  | 

    Amen Sista! That's an interesting subject, but I really like your counterpoints. I think there's a big stereotype about obesity, and society tends to lump us all together in one category.And yes–I've missed your blogging, get to it! No excuses ma'am

  • 2. Cortney&hellip  | 

    Excellent point on the smoking/tanning thing. At my pool, all summer I see the women and men that look every inch the conventional societal perfect body- you can tell the men lift lots of weights and those girls probably do lots of cardio and toning. Yet they all bake in the sun- I mean painfully, unattractively very dark tans- and they all chain smoke and drink. So… not the cover people for a healthy lifestyle IMO.

  • 3. Anonymous&hellip  | 

    I think they need to stop the war on obese "people." All one has to do is substitute race or religion and people would realize sizism is just the same ugly discrimination, and just as unacceptable.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

  • Tweet, Tweet

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  •  
