Delish …

May 5, 2009 waterswife

Oh my gosh. I just made the BEST dinner! I wanted to make something in honor of Cinco De Mayo, so I decided to try a recipe for Taco Soup. Only, I made some changes to make it healthier!

Quick N’ Easy Taco Soup

Ingredients:
½ lb. ground beef (browned, drained) I used 98% fat free ground turkey
½ onion sliced I used probably 1/4 of an onion
28 oz. can stewed or diced tomatoes I only used 14 oz, we’re not big tomato fans
15 oz. can kidney beans in liquid I also used a can of black beans
1-2 cans whole corn with liquid I just used one can, since hubby isn’t a fan of corn
¼ pkg. taco seasoning
1 tsp. sugar I used Splenda

Directions:
Combine all above ingredients, remembering NOT to drain canned items. Simmer 15-30 minutes. Serve with tortilla chips, sour cream, lettuce and guacamole. (I did not add ANY of this and it tasted just GREAT!!!)

This was such an easy and HEALTHY dinner. I can’t wait to make it again!

Entry Filed under: rEcipEs

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. etta&hellip  | 

    Sounds yummy! Great job on the substitutions!PS — what’s wrong with onions?

  • 2. Aimee&hellip  | 

    Heya girl!Nothing wrong with onions at all, I just didn’t want THAT much in our soup. It was sooooo good!

  • 3. Children of the Nineties&hellip  | 

    This looks really good, I’ll have to try it!

  • 4. lisa (lost pezhead)&hellip  | 

    you are totally making me hungry!

  • 5. Lauren&hellip  | 

    OOO! That sounds good! If you like that kind of soup, I have a great recipe for chicken tortilla soup that’s super easy. :)I found you via your post on OSB! I’m looking forward to reading more of your stuff!

  • 6. Jen&hellip  | 

    I LOVE this soup! Its even better the next day for lunch! I have never added sugar though. YUM!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

  • Tweet, Tweet

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  •  
