Birds Of A Feather …

May 5, 2009 waterswife

Something I LOVE about our apartment is all the different kinds of birds that live with us. We live on old farm land, so I think a lot of these birds have been here for generations. We also have TONS of trees that also allow for perfect living conditions.
Most mornings when I head to my car, this pack of ducks come running from my car. Tyson calls them my body guards, since my car got broken into two times last summer.

When I emailed that picture to Tyson, he added a few words and sent this back to me:


We also have had lots of quail! I so love watching these guys zip all over the place! I love watching their babies! It’s like watching cottonballs run.

Just outside of our window, we have this HUGE tree:

While pretty to look at, it wreaks havoc on my allergies. BUT … I love looking out the window in the middle of the night and seeing this:

I think it’s a morning dove.

So, I saved the best story for last!!

So what happened was that I was starting to back my car out of my parking stall and I took one last look to my left and right to make sure it was clear. When I looked to my left, I saw a little fuzz ball in the street! (Not a busy street, but cars do come down it!)

I stared for a second and then realized it was a lil duckling! So I stop my car and get out and go to him. After asking lil duckie several times to move, I decided he wasn’t going to.

I call my work friend and ask her advice. She told me not to touch it. (Later after a Google search, we find out that it would have been ok to touch him with my bare hands after all)

So I find a stick and try and tried to nudge him to the curb. He tried walking, but he’s so top heavy and only has floppy little feet, so he keeps stumbling. So then I break the stick in two and kinda gently chop stick him under his body and run him to the curb.

Then I gave him a stern lecture to stay there and wait for his mommy. It was heartbreaking for me to have to leave him there all alone, but I really had to get to work.

Well, he must have listened to my lecture, cuz when I got home, there was no sign of him. I looked all over the road and curb and didn’t see him anywhere. So I decided his mommy came back for him and he is happy and safe and with his other ducky siblings.

Of course I got some pictures:

SO CUTE!!!!!

I know this may sound totally crazy, but I love my duckie. I miss him!!

Posted by Picasa
Entry Filed under: animals, apartment life

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amander&hellip  | 

    Okay, that is the cutest little thing! I am so glad you saved him!

  • 2. Kathryn&hellip  | 

    oh my CUTENESS!! I would miss a little fuzzball like that, too.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

  • Tweet, Tweet

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  •  
