First Step …

February 25, 2009 waterswife

We have weigh in tonight. And before any one gets all upset … I am going!!

I could come up with a million excuses of why the last two weeks have been hard for me. I could say that I got a cold last week. Or that we were invited to a few dinners over the weekend and decided to go to them. Or I could say that I had a lot of appointments after work this last week and life just got busy. While every single one of those things happened … I don’t want to use them as excuses.

The truth is … I’m struggling. I have highs and lows and they are coming and going more frequently now than ever before. I will get motivated and do so well for two weeks and then I crash and burn.

Like I used all my strength for those weeks and now it’s all gone.

I should be able to let anonymous comments roll off my back. I should be able to let go of my past and move forward. I should be able to let down my walls.

But I can’t.

I feel like I am drowning.

So I want to put this out there, so every one knows.

I’ve been doing some research and in the next few weeks, I will be going to see a therapist. One that specializes in eating disorders and abuse.

I need to learn to cope and to let go and move forward. I think that if I continue to see my dude to work on my nutrition and exercise and then see some one else (nickname to be determined) for my mind, that between the two I can get this done.

So that’s it. I just wanted to let you guys know before we went to our weigh in that this is what is on my mind.

Thank you for your continued support! And sorry this was a downer entry. I’ll have to think of a funny way to post my weigh in…lol 🙂

Entry Filed under: cHallengeS, superfat superchick

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Barbara_in_WA&hellip  | 

    I love that you can be so honest and open with your feelings on here. I have a feeling that working with the therapist will be a great benefit to you. I’m sorry…I giggle every time I see the word “therapist” now. I always see that SNL skit where someone is doing Sean Connery on Jeapardy where he chooses the sudject “The Rapist” and the host says…”That’s Therapist.” Cracks me up.This is great news. I can’t wait to hear how it goes when you meet with them the first time. I’m proud of you for taking that big step.Hugs….~Barb~

  • 2. etta&hellip  | 

    You’re doing amazing, Aimee. The fact that you’re putting yourself out there for the world and being so honest is great! I, for one, am rooting for you!

  • 3. BumbleBeeRunning&hellip  | 

    Hey Aimee- Just found your blog & wanted to send you some words of encouragement. Losing weight is hard, if it wasn't, everyone would be skinny! So you'll have ups & downs. The important thing is to stay positive and know that you are working towards a fantastic goal! It sounds like you know yourself well & are doing everything in your power to succeed, so you will- maybe not always at the pace you'd like, but you will. Keep your eyes on the prize, girl, and know that a bad day or a bad week or even a bad month don't stand in your way!

  • 4. lisa (lost pezhead)&hellip  | 

    i’m sorry. i hate seeing you feel like that.it is so hard huh. i was at the store yesterday and bought these chocolate things and i knew i shouldn’t buy them cause i knew i would be the only one eating them and yes, today i ate the rest! ahh, why is it so hard to just not??? i don’t have ice cream or anything really tempting in teh house right now and it is driving me crazy! it seriously consumes my mind. if someone brings me brownies ect i will seriously plan when i will eat them…like ok as soon as i get home and get the kids settled i am totally going to sit down and eat that whole plate and not share! i know can you believe that…you probably didn’t know that about me. anyway…you will do great and don’t get so down, you are going the right direction, it takes time! 🙂

  • 5. Amander&hellip  | 

    Obviously I know a little about therapy (being a therapist myself), and I wish you luck in finding one that is compatible for you. Don’t be afraid to switch therapists if you don’t “click” with the first one. Therapy can be very, very helpful, but it’s a lot of work!

  • 6. adrienne&hellip  | 

    Aims,I think it is great that you are ready to get to the core of your addictions. Life isn’t easy for anyone, we have all felt at one time or another that we are drowning, but that is why we have family,friends and God to throw us that life preserver to help keep us afloat. We love you and want you to succeed in your therapy and weight loss! Just know your not alone we are here to listen. Love ya sis!

  • 7. THE HYMAS FAMILY&hellip  | 

    Awesome idea! Can’t wait to hear the benefits of it all. I emotionally eat all of the time and sometimes don’t even realize it as “emotionally eating”–Oprah calls food the drug of her choice– but getting to the core issues is what we should all be doing with weight loss. Notice how Biggest Loser always shows the trainers(especially Jillian) break the contestants to crying point, it’s because they want to get to the core issues of what’s keeping them scared of losing the weight or whatever. Way to go.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

  • Tweet, Tweet

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  •  
