Weigh In Wednesday…

February 11, 2009 waterswife

Real fast before I hit the sack…

We had our official weigh in tonight and in the last two weeks I lost 5 lbs! (which means I technically only lost 1 lb this last week?? Oh well!)

The pinch test shows that I lost 1% body fat in the 2 weeks! SWEET!!

I totally credit this to your encouragement (yes YOU!) and the totally sweet play list I have on my iPod!

Oh yeah…get this:

There has been some buzz around the office lately because they are getting ready to do another “biggest loser” type competition. One of my friends at work came up to me and asked if I had joined a team yet.

I’ve been thinking about doing this, but as a single competitor not as part of a team…but I was just unsure if I really wanted to do it or not.

But with this coworker asking me to join his team, I felt kind of excited that some one WANTED me to be on their team. So, I’ve decided that I will do it! I mean, I think I am. LOL. I’m scared! There will be 5 other people depending on me to do my best!! Yikes! Anyway, I’ve got a few weeks to think about it.

What is motivating you guys this week?

Oh P.S. Can anyone give me their testimony that getting more sleep affected their weight loss? I am a night owl and often have bouts of insomnia…so I just wonder how much it REALLY effects my diet. (other than wanting midnight snacks)

Entry Filed under: superfat superchick

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sarah :)&hellip  | 

    Yay for more weight loss! And 1% body fat? That’s actually a REALLY big deal! Woohoo! :)I think you should go ahead and do the BL group. I mean, it’s not like you’ll be relying on your team for all of your motivation because you’ve already been doing AWESOME. Besides, they could probably use someone on their team with your “skillz.” *hehe*Well I don’t know if my sleeping habits effect my weight loss or not but they certainly keep me happy! I really love my sleep…like, physically ENJOY it. *haha* So I’m probably not a good one to ask. πŸ™‚

  • 2. etta&hellip  | 

    Hooray for the 1% loss!As for sleep, I’m not sure how it and weightloss are related, but I’m sure they are. Not getting enough sleep is bad for you. I notice a huge difference in my mood on the days I get six hours versus when I get eight. You should try to get a full night’s sleep and see how you feel the next day.

  • 3. Cortney&hellip  | 

    Hey lady- Sleep and weight loss are definitely related. I wish I could get some linkies for you with some more definite info but it has to do with less sleep equaling more stress hormones (even if you’re not mentally stressed, you’re body is from lack of sleep). Cortisol (a stress hormone) can affect your metabolism, because, again, your body is in stress mode and thinks “whoa, she’s not sleeping, maybe we’re in danger, we should hold on to more of these calories”. Of course, because you’re exercising and eating well it’s not like lack of sleep will prevent you from losing weight totally, but it may be holding you back a bit. Oh, and when it comes to strength training if you’re lacking sleep you might not be rebounding as quickly as you would to repair the muscles.Sorry for such a long comment πŸ™‚

  • 4. Cortney&hellip  | 

    Ah, here’s a general link about cortisol- http://www.medicinenet.com/script/main/art.asp?articlekey=53304

  • 5. Lisa&hellip  | 

    Congrats on the loss! Keep up the great work :-)As a shift worker, I can tell you without a doubt that lack of sleep affects my weight loss efforts. I believe that there is a physical and mental effect. For instance, I’ve had about 10 hours sleep over the past 2 nights and today I simply don’t have the energy to make good choices. I’ve been eating whatever is handy and I don’t care to count my points.Get your sleep, young lady!!

  • 6. Jason&hellip  | 

    I once slept for 36 hours straight and lost 12 lbs!!

  • 7. Barbara_in_WA&hellip  | 

    Congrats Sweetie! Keep it up! I say join the group. It will keep you honest about working out when others are relying on you. And that is just a huge benefit for YOU! Sleep is a big part of weight loss. Someone else already explained it. You burn calories to when you sleep. I know it sounds weird. But it all relates….proper nutrition, exercise, water, and 7-8 hours of sleep. If you have trouble sleeping and do not want to take a sleep aid, which I do not recommend them, then try a natural herb like valarian root. Not sure about the spelling. It smells like holey hell, but it helps you sleep. Its just a pill, but phewy it stinks! My kids used to make their friends smell it as a joke. Yeh….its that bad!

  • 8. Leah&hellip  | 

    Be CAREFUL with sleep aids. One of my sisters (Cate) had a very scary reaction to valerian root. Her body went to sleep (as in she couldn’t move AT ALL) but she was wide awake and couldn’t even cry for help. Luckily she didn’t stop breathing. Scary.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

  • Tweet, Tweet

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  •  
