Numm Yummy!!

February 8, 2009 waterswife

So, today’s blog is … all about FOOD!!

First and formost, my college BFF had the brilliant idea to start a blog about foods that you can eat while trying to live a healthy lifestyle. And guess what!!? She invited me to be one of the writers! I haven’t contributed yet, but I promise I will share some of meals that dude has taught us.

Oh, I guess the website would help, eh? πŸ™‚

http://lisahealthyeats.blogspot.com/

So everyone add that site to your readers, because I think you’ll love it!

On Friday night, Hubby and I decided to go on a little date, but we didn’t want to use our cheat meal. We had driven past this new restaurant that was being built last month and decided to go check it out. It is called Ufood Grill and we were NOT disappointed!

I had the BBQ chicken, broccoli, and “unfries”. Ok, the unfries were a bit of a cheat, but they were really good! My whole meal was less than 500 calories and tasted amazing! The chicken was cooked perfectly!

This really is the perfect place to go when you just don’t feel like cooking, but want to stay healthy. We found out that they are opening FIVE here in the Salt Lake Valley. YAY!!! They are only in Illinois, Massachusetts, Florida, California, and randomly here in Utah!

Then last night we hung out with the in-laws and we went to eat at Bajio. Bro-in-law and his girlfriend told us about this salad that they love there. (I’ve never been to Bajio) At first I didn’t know how I would like it, because I am the pickiest eater. But let me tell you … I will never, ever crave a salad from Cafe Rio ever again! It was soooo good! It was the Green Chile Chicken Salad.

Chicken Green Chile Salad

Leafy greens, with cheese, grilled chicken breast, sweet green chile chutney, caramelized sweet onions, topped with crisp tortilla strips. Served with a fresh cooked flour tortilla. (I added corn and black beans)

I couldn’t find anywhere on their website that listed the calories, so who knows if it’s any good for you…but oh well! It was well worth the cheat meal.

Then last week, Hubby was at the market and found some turkey hot dogs that looked like they might fit nutritiously into our diet. Knowing that they probably taste gross, he just bought one package to bring home.

So we grilled them up on the George Forman (side note, I cannot wait until we can use the real BBQ again. DANG YOU WINTER!!) The first thing we noticed was that they didn’t sizzle and there was no juice at all coming out of them. We thought that might mean they were dry.

So I took a bite and … WOW! Delicious! Soooo good!! I had three dogs (approx 4 oz) with some raw asparagus and mushrooms. So my total dinner was under 200 calories and it was really, really filling.

Go HERE for their website. And here is some info if you don’t wanna leave my blog…because I know you are all addicted to me! (hehe)



Natural Turkey Hot Dogs

Kids love hot dogs, and since our turkey franks are both free of nitrites and low in fat, you can feel great about serving them. These natural dogs are made from hand-trimmed turkey thighs, which are seasoned with paprika, garlic and onions, and then lightly smoked and cooked.

Nutrition Key:

This product is

Nutrition Facts

Natural Turkey Hot Dogs
Serving Size 1 Frank (43g)
Servings Per Container 8
Calories 45
Calories From Fat 15
% Daily Values (DV) are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.
Amount/serving DV%
Total Fat 2g 3%
Saturated Fat 0.5g 3%
Trans Fat 0g
Cholesterol 25mg 8%
Sodium 260mg 11%
Total Carbs 0g 0%
Dietary Fiber 0g 0%
Sugars 0g
Protein 6g
Vitamin A 2%
Vitamin C 0%
Calcium 0%
Iron 2%
Ingredients: Turkey, water. Contains less than 2% of the following: sea salt, spices, paprika, garlic, onion.

Entry Filed under: superfat superchick

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lisa (lost pezhead)&hellip  | 

    thanks for posting about the blog! i’m hoping to get people to start contributing! i feel like i’m endlessly looking for healthy recipes…i have plenty of cheesy, buttery, fatty recipes! and hopefully they will all be good since it will be stuff people actually eat!those turkey dogs look good! calder likes to eat those…the oscar meyer 98% fat free or something like that.

  • 2. Sarah :)&hellip  | 

    Aw man I REALLY wish we had on of those UFood grills!!! My husband and I struggle to find places we can eat out and still eat healthy. That sounds like the PERFECT solution! I’m glad you’re finding ways to stick to your diet and still enjoy eating! That’s a great balance! πŸ™‚

  • 3. etta&hellip  | 

    I love turkey dogs!

  • 4. emily kate&hellip  | 

    We live in NYC now, with NO bajio and I really miss the green chile chicken salad. I love that thing!Love your blog!

  • 5. Shea&hellip  | 

    I just happened on this blog while searching for the calories in the bajio salad. I think I might have found it and it’s 562 without the tortilla I’m sure. This was just from someone’s calculations but it looked semi-accurate. I never add the cheese either.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

  • Tweet, Tweet

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  •  
