Christmas Fun…

December 20, 2008 waterswife

Since Christmas is almost here, I thought I’d take a minute to FINALLY answer the Christmas questionnaire that I got tagged to do. (And you thought I’d forgotten about it, didn’t you Christa!)

But before we get started, I found these old pictures of Tyson and I at Christmas time several years ago:

(Me! I don’t remember it being cool to have two sets of eyebrows back then, but it must have been the latest trend!)


(Tyson!! I love the mullet honey!!)

And on to the survey!

1. Wrapping paper or gift bags? I am horrible at wrapping things!! I try so hard, but I am just not good at it. So, a lot of the time I try to use bags…but also I end up just wrapping the best I can and hope the person receiving the gift has a sense of humor.

2. Real tree or Artificial? Artificial. I am not a big fan of cleaning up needles all over the floor! We did not get our Christmas tree from my mom-in-law’s this year, because we just don’t have the space to store it…and also, I am hesitant to see how Chloe deals with a tree in the house. Hopefully next year she will be a little bit more mellow and we can try it then.

3. When do you put up the tree? Ideally, the weekend after Thanksgiving Day.

4. When do you take the tree down? lol again, ideally…the week between Christmas and New Years…maybe the weekend of New Years.

5. Do you like eggnog? YUCK!!!!!!!! But Tyson loves it! And the smell drives Chloe insane, so she likes it too.

6. Favorite gift received as a child? There are so many! I loved when I got my red bike. Also, I liked my John Stockton Jersey. But the ultimate was when I got my Sega Gamegear. I remember playing that thing for hours on end.

7. Hardest person to buy for? Everyone! I am not good about coming up with gifts most of the time. But the hardest is Tyson, because we still haven’t come up with a good system of being able to surprise the other. Hello! We live in the same house AND share a bank account! But mostly, like Christa said, there is so much I want to get him, but most of it is way too expensive!

8. Easiest person to buy for? No one! Well, I mean, if I could get everyone a gift card, it would be easier. I always hate giving cards though, because I feel like I’m taking the easy road out…but I know that I prefer getting cards so I can pick out what I want…so I don’t know!

9. Do you have a nativity scene? Nope…but maybe when we have a house and have more room.

10. Mail or email Christmas cards? We’re still working out the kinks on this one. I’ve written a letter both years now that we’ve been married, but we’ve only handed them out to family at the family parties. This year, in addition, I’ve also created two different cards that I want to mail to some old friends. (I should probably upload those to be printed out today!!)

11. Worst Christmas gift you ever received? I can’t think of anything. Back in high school, I hated when my parents bought me clothes…

12. Favorite Christmas Movie? ELF!!! Elf for sure. I watched The Family Stone last night while Tyson was asleep, and I love that movie. Also, Love Actually…edited! I don’t know why they ruined that movie with some scenes, because minus those, the movie is really amazing and has a great story behind it (That love is everywhere, if you just look for it)

13. When do you start shopping for Christmas? Whenever we can…which usually ends up being just a few weeks before Christmas.

14. Have you ever recycled a Christmas present? I have once or twice…or several times! (shh..don’t tell!)

15. Favorite thing to eat at Christmas? Cadbury Christmas Balls!!!! (you know the ones that come out at Easter…but this time of year they are round and red, white, and green!)

16. Lights on the tree? If we had a tree…yes! What is a Christmas tree with out lights??

17. Favorite Christmas song? Mariah Carey’s All I Want For Christmas, Is You! And Tyson played a CD for me the other night that had like Weezer and No Doubt singing Christmas songs, I really enjoyed that.

18. Travel at Christmas or stay at home? I wish we could stay at home…and we do in the sense we stay in Utah…but as we are with out children, we travel to everyone else’s houses.

19. Can you name all of Santa’s reindeer? I don’t know!! Ok, let’s try… Dasher, Dancer, Prancer, Commet, Vixen, Cupid (??), Donner, Blitzen, and Rudolph. Is that all of them? Am I right?

20. Angel on the tree top or a star? I love stars!

21. Open the presents Christmas Eve or morning? In previous years, we’ve opened gifts from the extended family on Christmas Eve, and when we were younger, we got one present to open from my parents that night. But the rest were on Christmas Day.

22. Most annoying thing about this time of the year? How stressed out and RUDE everyone is this time of year. This last week at work has been horrible, because almost everyone I’ve had to call has been down right rude! I even called HR to report one rude nurse, but HR was rude to me!! I had an even nastier lady yesterday, but I was too shocked to call HR on her. (Calling HR is not something I normally do, just these ladies were REALLY rude…)

23. What theme or color are you using? I am not organized enough to have a theme yet. But I love snowmen…so maybe one year we’ll do that.

24. Favorite for Christmas dinner? Um…I dunno. Tyson’s mom makes a good breakfast…but that isn’t dinner. I like ham usually.

25. What do you want for Christmas this year? I had a hard time coming up with stuff this year. I did come up with THIS list, but that is all jokes. I’d really like an armband for my iPod, as I keep knocking it off the treadmill, and a Jacket. The snow is killing me this year, and I don’t own a coat. There are a few books I want. (like The Host, Three Cups Of Tea (for the bookclub I am in), and The Twilight Saga: The Official Guide. I guess I want more than I thought!

If you do this tag (as you should!) tag as many people as there are days left till christmas.
I’m tagging 5 people! (now you know why I waited Christa!): Mom Waters, Paige, Shalauna, Adri, and Marie-ette…and everyone else who wants to do it!

Entry Filed under: aimee-isms, holidays

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jeanette&hellip  | 

    I always like reading your blog! Will I get to see you next week at my mom’s house for the christmas eve party?

  • 2. christa&hellip  | 

    very nice 🙂 I’m happy you did it- some of you’re answers gave me a good laugh. Have a Merry Christmas if I don’t talk (or write, whatever we call it :)) before then!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

  • Tweet, Tweet

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  •  
