Sigh…it happened again!

December 7, 2008 waterswife


Bleh! So yesterday, hubby and I were at Target. We were in the check out line and my back was hurting, so I was standing like a preggo lady. (You know, hand on the back…large belly sticking out) Anyway, so the check-out lady was older and liked to talk a lot, and once she caught sight of me, she got all excited.

“Oh look at you!!! Are you feeling okay? How long until you are due?!”

As mortifying as this is, I decided that it was just easier to play the game, rather than embarassing the lady. So I played along.

“Oh, not for a while.”

“Are you having a boy or a girl?”

“We don’t know yet.”

Then she went on and on and on…all about how she hopes I am not having morning sickness and how she didn’t, but that when she delivered she got sick. This whole time, I’m holding hubby’s hand and squeezing it…to let him know we need to just play along.

Obviously, I am going to be hitting the gym pretty hard this week now. LOL. I’ve had the last week off from working out, because I had a major cold and couldn’t breathe. I am still not 100%, but I need to get back to working out. And in good news, we are finally getting to meeting with our consultant next week. I can’t wait.

So…what would you guys have done in my situation? Would you have lied…like I did? Or would you have just told the truth? Let me know…and give me some advice for next time! Thanks guys!

Entry Filed under: superfat superchick

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lisa (lost pezhead)&hellip  | 

    oh, i can’t believe that…maybe it’s being in UT and they are used to everyone being pregnant! i think it’s nice you play along, esp for an older lady i’m sure she would be soooo embarassed. ahhh, i’m sorry that happens, i never say anything to people, you just never know! read this:http://everythingispink.blogspot.com/2008/02/new-before-pile-and-story-about-someone.html#links

  • 2. lisa (lost pezhead)&hellip  | 

    oh and read the Interblog Memo also….

  • 3. etta&hellip  | 

    Holy moly! I’m not sure if I’d think quickly enough to cover up being offended to play along. This is why you never ask someone if they’re pregnant!

  • 4. Lisa&hellip  | 

    I agree with ^^^. Never ask someone if they’re pregnant. It doesn’t matter if the lady is heavy or not…it’s just not good manners!I would have been mortified. And I doubt I would have played along. You spared that lady some embarrassment…You’re a nicer person than I am!

  • 5. Barbara_in_WA&hellip  | 

    Oh gosh. A properly trained cashier knows to never ask a woman if she is pregnant. You wait and comment on the cute little one when they arrive! Once I was wearing a really big oversized sweater and I was asked when I was due. I said “15 years ago.”

  • 6. Monty&hellip  | 

    I agree with Lisa – must be a Utah thing! Everyone married girl in their 20’s should be pregnant! I am so sorry!! No one should EVER ask a stranger if they are pregnant!!You will be so cute when you are! Yay for the consultant! Keep it up! You rock!

  • 7. MR. Ponies N Apples&hellip  | 

    Your such a sweetee for not being offended at ck out.Your self esteem values may need to be recalibrated about self worth.Like I tell my big boned old lady is That its nice to have a little extra gravy on my taters.Good luck on your wieght quest set short term goals they are more realistic and obtainable on the interm.I believe in you but do you believe in you just guessing here but your old man must think your worth it.Remember pretty faces and bums dont always mean pretty hearts.You can do it just hang in there.

  • 8. Glynis&hellip  | 

    Hi Amiee! I found your blog thru Barb’s blog!I had an experience once when I was just about 20 years old. I had a sweater from a store called Benetton and it had a giant letter “B” on it. I thought I was quite trendy for having that sweater. Then I was at an airport in NYC and some lady asked me when my Baby was due. I was like, “EXCUSE ME? I AM NOT PREGNANT!” Now I know she was just some innocent traveler from Utah trying to start a conversation.

  • 9. daisy&hellip  | 

    I think I’ve been big so long that I’m tired of playing along. My good manners do not extend themselves to excusing other people’s [ignorance-rudeness-chutzpah-thoughtlessness] whatever their reason.When someone asks me when I’m due, I look at them, I pause, and I say, “I’m not.” And I stop. And if they keep looking, I usually say, “I’m just fat.” Like, DUH.I used to feel rude saying it, but then I thought, wait a MINUTE. I NEVER ask anyone if they are pregnant. I just MYOB unless they want to tell me. Which is what that lady should have done.I really wanted to comment that I love your header picture, but I got sucked into this post. LOL.

  • 10. daisy&hellip  | 

    I mean I MMOB. Mind MY own business. 🙂

  • 11. Maxie&hellip  | 

    I would have TOTALLY played along. You played it just right.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

  • Tweet, Tweet

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  •  
