Bear Lake 2008

August 21, 2008 waterswife

Well, I am finally getting around to posting about our trip!

On Thursday, we drove up to the lake and got our tent all set up. Here is a fun little picture I snapped of our tent on my cell phone. We really had a lot of fun camping, and it is a lot more comfy sleeping on a grass spot rather than a rocky dirt one. I don’t think you can see, but notice the camper on the right is stealing our hook ups. They were not the nicest of neighbors.

On Friday, we rested all morning (and by that I mean we caught up on some much needed sleep) and then in the afternoon we went and rented waverunners!! Oh my gosh it was so much fun. I’ve only been on waverunners one other time when I was a teenager, and I had forgotten how much fun they are. I felt so free. That may sound stupid, but it’s just how I felt. We zipped around the lake and had such a great time. About halfway through our hour, I turned and noticed Tyson’s waverunner stopped, with no Tyson on board. I guess he took a turn too fast and it threw him off. I pulled up beside him and cheered him on as he got back on. If you’ve ever been on a waverunner, you know that it is not easy to get back on if you fall. Well, the we managed to go another 20 minutes without any problems before I took a turn too tight and my own wave knocked me over. Um, we were in the middle of the lake. Well, I immediately went to work trying to save my shorts that had become 3 sizes too big since they were wet, grab my earrings, because the back had come off one and it was falling off, worrying about my wedding ring that I stupidly wore, and oh of course, my sunglasses were still on my face. I tried climbing back on a few times with no success, and then all my energy drained and I started to have an anxiety attack. Poor Tyson tried his best to calm me down, even trying to jump in after me to help, but I started freaking out even more. I didn’t want two of us stuck! So instead he flagged down a boat to help us. I won’t mention that it was a boat of HOT early twenty something year olds, and I won’t mention that the boy who tried to help me back on the waverunner had tiny little shorts on…and I won’t even mention about the other boy who grabbed my bum to help me onto the boat when we finally gave up. Needless to say, the first boy enjoyed ridding my waverunner back to shore for me, and I am sure the whole group had a good laugh about how they went out for a day on the lake and saved the fat girl. SIGH. Oh well, at least it made for a great blogging story, right? And of course, my mother in law got a few great pics of my rescuer. (See Below)

Tyson’s mom got some fun pictures of us on the waverunners, that I of course scrapbooked. Click on the picture to make it bigger. In the first picture, the pic in the left corner is Tyson helping me back to shore…notice I am soaked, and also notice the boat behind us, and the guy who grabbed by bum on the back. haha! Good times.


On Sat we went to some local boutiques in the morning. We found some really cute things to help decorate our new apartment:
Then we spent the afternoon on the beach at the lake again. This time there were no near drowning experiences…thank goodness!!!

And then we came home on Sunday. We had such a great time. I am already counting down until next year!

Entry Filed under: family, trips

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

  • Tweet, Tweet

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  •  
