The He Said, She Said of an Engagement:

October 6, 2007 waterswife

HE SAID: (as posted on his myspace page)

I am officially engaged to Aimee! We have been dating for over 1.5 years, and I finally proposed on Feb 14th. We will be getting married sometime this summer.

I did not really intend to get engaged on Valentine’s Day…it just happened. The week before, we made our second visit to Shane Co. and Aimee found “THE ring”. The conversation went like this:

“I want this ring!”
“Are you sure?”
“Yeah. Girls look at rings their whole lives, Tyson.”
“So out of all the rings you have EVER seen, this is your favorite?!?”
“Yes.”

That was good enough for me. I put some money down on the ring right in front of her, and they told me to let them know when I was paying it off so they could set the stone and fit it.

So at that point, I figured I wasn’t going to be able to surprise Aimee very easily. But I made it seem like I wasn’t even thinking about getting the ring prepared for a while.

Then, I was at work on Tuesday (the 13th), and I found out that I had to work that weekend. I was bugged at first, but then I realized that I could take a day off during the week because of it. It immediately occurred to me that I could propose and surprise her…except I didn’t have the ring yet. Oh well. I decided that I was going to propose without the ring. So I told my boss that I was taking Wednesday.

Tuesday night, Aimee starts asking tons of questions about when I might propose. I played it off like there was no way it would happen really soon. She asked me if it would be within 30 days, and I reluctantly agreed to that. I could tell she was disappointed…which meant she totally bought it.

The next morning, I knock on her door. She stumbles to the door in her pajamas. Perfect. She has the most confused look on her face, like she could not figure out how I was possibly up there. I took her into her room, sat her down, sang to her, and proposed. Pretty simple…but it was so perfect for us. We have waited a long time, and I just could not wait any longer.

I gave her the ring this last Wednesday (Feb 21), and since then, Aimee has been afraid to touch anything. It is very beautiful…and she says it is a bigger solitaire diamond than anyone else in her family has. That surprised me, but makes me feel like a million bucks.

It has been a long road, but we have grown together and are best friends. I could not ask for anyone better to share my life with.

Stay tuned.

SHE SAID: (as posted on her myspace page)

I’m engaged!!!!!!!!!!! And the best part is that I am engaged to the most amazing man ever.

We’ve been thinking about marriage for a while. CLARIFICATION, I have been thinking about it for a while. But in August Tyson went out to dinner with his brother Jas, and he opened his fortune cookie and it said: YOU SHALL SOON MAKE AN OVERDUE PERSONAL DECISION. Well, soon meant like a month later when he finally let me talk about the big M word. So then we had just started getting settled into the fact that it really could happen when WHAM! Tyson was asked to move across the country for work. In the month and a half he was gone, it became VERY clear to me that he was THE ONE.

Things got even more complicated when my parents received their mission call and found out that they were due to leave on Feb 12!!!! Ok, Tyson was due back in SLC on Feb 3, that means we had 9 days to do the whole “introduce the parents” dinner. So somehow we managed to do that, even though we were not TECHNICALLY engaged yet.

Then somewhere in that crazy week, Tyson took me to the lovely Shane Co. We looked at just a few rings and then there is was! My most perfect, most precious. I totally fell in love with it. It was fun looking at diamonds. The guy let us use his little magnifying thing and we got to pick out the diamond that was best for us. I didn’t want all the bells and whistles, I just wanted a thick, white gold band and the biggest diamond possible. And my lovely man put a down payment on it that day! I’ve never felt more like a princess in my whole life.

In my mind I made plans for us for Valentine’s Day. He was going to come up after work and I was going to spend the day cleaning and I was going to cool a nice, candle-lite dinner. Well, since it was my day off, I slept in until close to 9. I had just rolled outta bed, no make-up, three day old hair, and ratty pajamas, when i heard the doorbell ring. Thinking it was the landlord here to pick up a paper he left, I threw on a sweater and opened the door. There stood my Prince Charming! I was totally confused! He wasn’t supposed to be here yet!! He took me into my completely messy room and asked if he could sing to me. He sang our song: The Luckiest by Ben Folds. One line goes: “now where was I before the day that I first saw your lovely face, now I see it every day.” But he sang it “CAN I see it every day.” Now I KNOW he knows the words…but I know he doesn’t have the ring! It’s too soon!! Why is he down on his knee now?? LOL! He said he couldn’t wait any longer, and he asked if I would marry him! Of course I said YES!!!!

And thus it was. Princess Aimee is engaged to Prince Tyson! WoOt!

Here we are messing around with a MAC comp at the mall (but hey, you can see the ring! lol):

Entry Filed under: love, marriage

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

  • Tweet, Tweet

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  •  
